Skype is a great mean of communication to use for both personal and professional purposes. One can easily send messages, send files, make audio/video calls, host group calls etc. using Skype. Although, the interface and functionality of Skype are quite smooth and user-friendly, however, if you didn’t like using Skype or you didn’t get what you expected from Skype, you can easily stop using it by closing your account. To know how to delete your Skype account, follow the step-by-step instructions provided below.
Steps to Delete Skype Account
NOTE: As your Skype account is the same as your Microsoft account, deleting it will also make your other Microsoft products or services such as Office Online, OneDrive, Outlook.com, Xbox Live etc. inaccessible.
Also, when deleting your Skype account, make sure that you have considered the following points before removing your account.
- Backup all your files and contacts available in your Skype account.
- Make sure you have used your Skype credit balance. You will not be able to get it back once your account gets closed.
- Make sure to cancel your active subscription so that you don’t get charged for them unnecessarily.
Once you have considered the above-given points, you can follow these steps to delete your Skype account.
1.) On your computer, open a web browser and sign in to your Skype account.
2.) Once you are logged into your Skype account, go to the Skype account closure page.
3.) Once you are on the Skype account closure page, go through the information provided on this page and click on the Next button.
4.) Then, on the next page, you will be prompted with more information to consider before deleting your account. So, go through the information provided on the page and select a reason from the drop-down list.
5.) After that, click on the Mark account for closure button. Your account will be closed after 60 days.
NOTE: In case you wish to reactivate your Skype account, you can do so within the 60 days of deleting your account. After 60 days, your Skype account will be closed permanently.
So, this is how you can delete your Skype account.